Strawberry Galette

I’ve always wanted to make a pie. It’s been on my “to bake” list for quite some time. The only problem I’ve had is that we’ve had more than our share of boiling summer days here in T.O., which means, I can’t bring myself to bake, as it too hot. Which is unfortunate, because I didn’t start this blog for nothing!

Seeing as there is so much fresh fruit in abundance during these summer days, something has to be done to use them up. And so, the oven is the exact tool I need.

But I digress.

I love my strawberries. I love them even more than when I slice them up, add sugar, and let them sit in a bowl in the fridge for a few hours. But you know what I love, even more than sliced up strawberries?? Sliced up strawberries, wrapped in a pie crust and baked for 35 minutes. E voila! The Galette. (I’m all about the French desserts this summer it would seem.)

What’s also nice about this is that it’s surprisingly easy to whip up.  Or maybe not so surprisingly. I used

 Of course, the day I wanted to bake it was on a hot and humid day, complete with a much needed thunderstorm. In the end, the strawberries won me over because they were perfectly fresh.

I had, what I believe to be, a quart, so I just used all of them, and saved the rest for a second galette.

This the second galette I made. I added the blueberries as a last minute add-in.

And all the while I was baking–both nights, actually–there was a thunderstorm raging. I took these pictures after the thunderstorm on the second night. It’s not often that you see sun lit clouds like this after a storm, and I was so impressed I had to take pictures.


The dessert you can eat for breakfast!

In the end, it was delicious. Now I’m one step closer to moving up to making a pie!

Strawberry Galette

(adapted from A Dash of Zest, who in turn, adapted it from the Comfort of Cooking)

Strawberry Galette
Serves 4-6

1 pie crust, store-bought or homemade
10-15 strawberries, stems removed and sliced
3 tbsp. white sugar
2 tsp. corn starch
1 egg, beaten

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Clean the strawberries, remove the stems and slice them lengthwise. Place the sliced strawberries into a bowl and sprinkle the sugar and cornstarch on top. Gently stir the strawberries until the sugar and cornstarch evenly cover the berries.

Roll out pie crust. Layer the berries overlapping each other inside the pie crust starting one inch from the edge. Fold the edge of the dough over the strawberries. Brush the dough with the beaten egg. Sprinkle all over with 1 tsp. sugar. Bake for 35-40 minutes.

Remove from the oven and let it cool for 5-10 minutes before slicing. Serve with homemade whipped cream.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

